Extreme Michael Jackson

Amazing Collages by Nina Fonoroff

I got some lovely letters from  Nina Fonoroff saying how much she enjoyed the Michael Jackson anthologies I put together. Nina is a filmmaker and artist and I asked to see her collages. They are amazing! Read what she says about Michael below:

“Before Michael Jackson died, I knew little about him and cared less. Yet within the space of a few days in June, 2009, I became a devotee. I spent the better part of that summer as a bleary-eyed spelunker in that great archive, YouTube, searching for the elusive source of Michael’s sublime energy.

“I never found it. But my first discovery, the “Rock With You” video (1979), made me passionately love the icon I’d spent my adult life avoiding. At length, his voice—-the color of golden honey, with gold flecks suspended in its viscous textures—began to seep into the inner layers of my skin.

“I’ve watched the video at least once a day since then, and I still haven’t tired of it. “Close your eyes, Don’t try to fight it; There ain’t nothing that you can do. Relax your mind…”

“This collage series, “And When the Groove…..” is my tribute to Michael in a favorite role, as one of history’s most accomplished seducers and hypnotists.”

And When the Groove #10f

And When the Groove #4a by Nina Fonoroff

And When the Groove #6a by Nina Fonoroff

Nina Fonoroff is an experimental filmmaker and visual artist who teaches in the Cinematic Arts Department at the University of New Mexico.

www.ninafonoroff.com
August 23, 2011 - Posted by | Michael Jackson art | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. if u didnt care for him then why do u now he was a good man

    Comment by Nikki Lemmon | August 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. Nina,
    Just came across these! I appreciate your narrative and collages.

    Hope you are still casting about in your intriguing stash of interior imagery to carry forth your “And When the Grove” series.

    Comment by constance pierce | January 26, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

